Sunday, January 25, 2015

List of restricted school zones in Melbourne

After spending some time trying to find a list of restricted school zones, I've given up and decided to collect them manually. I use them to populate the zones on my website Melbourne School Zones.

Following is a list of restricted zones I've encountered, with a link to a source used to obtain that information.

But first, a quote from Victoria's department of education, explaining what is a restricted zone for a public school -
In most instances, you will be able to enrol your child into the government primary school nearest to where you live.
However, some primary schools need to restrict their enrolments – and the number of students they can take – to a particular area or zone around the actual school. This means that certain schools can only take students from a specific neighbourhood area. Where your permanent residential address is will determine whether your child is eligible to enrol in that school.
These enrolment restrictions are sometimes referred to as residential boundaries, school zones, enrolment ceilings or enrolment caps.
And now for the list:

This list and the Melbourne School Zones website should be used as a guide only. The school in question should be contacted for definitive zone information.

  • Oct 16th 2015 - Added Truganina South Primary School
  • July 14th 2015 - Added Mount Waverley Secondary College Link
  • May 4th 2015
    • Updated Camberwell Primary School zone link.
    • Updated Auburn South Primary School zone link
  • May 2nd 2015 - Updated Hartwell Primary School zone link.
  • May 1st 2015 
    • Added Mont Albert Primary School zone.
    • Updated Chatham Primary School zone link.